THE FINAL GOODBYE!

 

                    Nearly two decades have past since that eventful day; but even today I can vividly recall the minutest details! I was coming back home (to Karachi from Dhaka) and she had come to the airport to bid me farewell. Those moments are firmly imprinted in my memory, her beautiful face looking drawn and exhausted; and her lips moving silently, as if in an intense prayer. After embracing her one last time, I tore myself away from her, and trying to hide my tears, turned to enter the departure lounge. I remember looking back over my shoulders after every few steps, just to catch one last glimpse of her. Just the knowledge that she was there and praying for me, was in itself a great solace!

                When I was married in 1970, it was just that I had migrated from one part of Pakistan to another, i.e. from Dhaka (East Pakistan) to Karachi (West Pakistan). But as destiny would have it, only after a year, Bangladesh was created and I found myself a foreigner in the city I was born in, had spent my childhood days and my school and college life; the city which I loved dearly.

                  With the passage of time, requirements of passport and visa, the ever rising cost of traveling with a growing family and my commitment to my children’s education, made my visits to my parents further and further years apart.

               On that particular occasion, I had gone to Dhaka to visit my ailing father and due to some personal circumstances my visit was a very tumultuous one. And the last night of my stay was particularly heart breaking! I could take the tension no more and broke down in sobs in my mother’s arms. My marriage was on the rocks and I could easily read the writing on the wall. And Ammi, (to whom physical touch simply did not come easily), just held me gently and lovingly murmured soothing words in my ears. And inspite of the heartbreak and the fear of the unknown, my taut nerves calmed down for a while and I dozed off in her loving arms.

            With a heavy heart, I boarded the aircraft trying to keep the thrill of her touch alive! Since my childhood days, it had always been a precious and cherishable moment, whenever Ammi hugged me tightly to her bosom or kissed me lovingly.

            It was not that she did not love me or my siblings! Ammi was a very caring mother in every way, but she was just different from others in every thing, trivial or important. If we go by the institutional standards, she was not educated, but her insatiable thirst for reading, gave her the vision and knowledge most woman of her generation lacked. A staunch Muslim she taught her children to have a firm faith in Allah! A fierce patriot, she had instilled in us a deep love for Pakistan, a love which keeps me restless to this day!

          Popular equally among her family and in-laws, Ammi’s wise and practical advice was sought and respected by all the people around her. She was a perfect home- maker as well as a very social person, juggling her time between her children, home and her social commitments.

           A few weeks after my return, the inevitable happened. My marriage, which had been shaky for years, ended in a divorce. Though I was shattered and heart broken, somehow that last night in Ammi’s arms helped me face this harsh stage of life bravely. I took my grief with pride, my head held high, refusing to give in to self pity (or allowing anyone else to pity me!). I must acknowledge that my children and family gave me unquestioning support which made that stage of life bearable. 

              After the initial pain had died down, I resolved to start my life all over again. Thinking that the worst was over, I started picking bits and pieces of my broken life. Though outwardly I tried to appear calm, I was just waiting for Ammi to come to Karachi. I could show my raw emotions and my anguish only to my mother, shed my tears hiding in her loving bosom!

          And then the tsunami came crashing down upon me!

          The innocent sounding ring of the phone bell on that eventful morning on the second day of Eid, brought devastating news from Dhaka. Ammi, who had talked to me only the day before, had consoled me with the news that she was coming to Karachi the following week, had past away peacefully in her sleep! All her life she had loved to be different, and in death too, she had chosen to stand apart from others. No serious illness, no doctors, no rushing to the hospital! No, she would have none of these! She had gone to bed as usual (the Eid Day) and just refused to get up in the morning.

               And never in my life had I needed her more! All the tears that remained to be shed, the anguish that remained to be expressed, just died down deep inside me.

            Memories of that day are like a hazy nightmare! Friends and relatives were surrounding me, offering their condolences but I just sat there wordless, numb with pain and trying to fathom the cruel reality. A dull throbbing pain kept tearing my heart to pieces, my eyes burning, but the tears just refusing to come!

            How can you let go of someone so dear to your heart… let go without even saying goodbye? When you live abroad away from people who are an integral part of your life, how can you even say whether you will ever see those beloved faces again? For months, I was overwhelmed with grief, as memories of that last night in her arms tugged at my heart and kept me awake and restless at nights. Ah! Only had I known that it was the final goodbye, I would have clung closer to her that night and not wasted even one of those precious moments in sleep!

14 thoughts on “THE FINAL GOODBYE!

    • Yes, Saira… there are different stages of life! There are times when you need to keep quiet and there are times when you need to speak up!!! I think my time to SPEAK UP has finally arrived! ALHUMDULILLAH!

  1. heart wrenching…i’ve seen my mother go thru this phase of life…living abroad and not being close to parents in their last days and i know it wasn’t easy…she still has her ifss and buts haunting her…very well expressed…

  2. I am speechless. Have heard about nani from ammi. And u hve so amaizingly put those emotions into words. M really touched by this one khalajani.
    May allah bless nani with d highest place in jannah. Ameen.

  3. Thanks dearest Juhi for your sensitive comment….. Yes, I feel that I must share all these with my readers as times seems to be running out of me! please keep me and Ammi in your prayer.. Jazakillah

  4. So beautiful, so touching…and so sad ..all at the same time. I am really sorry to hear about your loss, thank you for sharing something so personal

  5. hats off* to your strength. It really brought tears to my eyes to read this story…the loss of identity in your own country, the increasing distance with your parents, the divorce and then the loss of your mother….you are a true warrior of sorrow. Insha Allah Allah will reward you for facing them all so strongly.🙂

    • Jazakillah Aisha! It was really tough but as Allah says in the Quran ( a rough translation) No soul is burdened more than it can bear! Daddy followed ammi exactly after 6 years.. another blow but still Alhumdulillah! Insha Allah they are in a better place..please keep me in your prayers…so nice of you for posting such a sweet comment!

      • I lost my mom last week. 2Nd day of eid. Your words described exactly how I felt and how I am going to feel the rest of my life. May Allah bless our mothers and raise their ranks in jannah and next worlds.

      • Inna Lillahi Wa Inna ilehi Rajeun…May Allah grant your mother and all of our deceased parents the highest rank in Jannah. I feel sad for you but know that you will find consoling words hollow at this stage. May Allah grant you Sabr and the strength to bear this loss Ameen

Leave a Reply

